Van Dijk And Bergwijn Out As Netherlands Name Squad For Euro2020 | SEE FULL LIST

0 comment

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk and Tottenham forward Steve Bergwijn will both not be taking part in Euro2020 as they didn’t make the team.

Frank de Boer just announces his 26-man squad for European championship which many are shocking with the absence of the Tottenham player.

Netherlands won’t be going to Euros with one of their forward Steve Bergwijn who have been one of the best players so far this season.

Liverpool defender won’t be making it due to him still recovering from a bad injury he sustained long ago which he still needs time to recover.

Tottenham Steven Bergwijn was dropped on as the Netherlands coach Frank de Boer finalised his 26-man squad for next month’s Euros Championship.

His omission is likely to be lack of playing time which he couldn’t get after Gareth Bale made the move from Real Madrid to Spurs.

The winger game time was cut short with him making few appearances before the Premier League season was concluded.

Other key names dropped includes, Anwar El Ghazi, Hans Hateboer, Rick Karsdorp, Jeremiah St Juste, Kenny Tete and Tonny Vilhena.

Goalkeeper Stekelenburg made the team despite his age and Daley Blind who isn’t fit enough with him coming back from injury, also made the squad announced by Netherlands coach.


See Full Squad List 

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Valencia), Tim Krul (Norwich City), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax Amsterdam)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Ajax Amsterdam), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Denzel Dumfries (PSV Eindhoven), Jurriem Timber (Ajax Amsterdam), Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Joel Veltman (Brighton & Hove Albion), Owen Wijndal (AZ Alkmaar)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Ryan Gravenberch, Davy Klaassen (both Ajax Amsterdam), Teun Koopmeiners (AZ Alkmaar), Donny van de Beek (Manchester United), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Forwards: Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Luuk de Jong (Sevilla), Memphis Depay (Olympique Lyonnais), Cody Gakpo, Donyell Malen (both PSV Eindhoven), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Wout Weghorst (Wolfsburg).

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Share Now:

You may also like

About Us

MySportDab logo

MySportDab Sports

Feature Posts


Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension and you can access our website.