Victor Osimhen and Alex Iwobi Shine at the 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards

by Hashim
0 comment

Napoli striker Victor Osimhen and Fulham midfielder Alex Iwobi were among the standout winners at the 10th edition of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, held on Saturday night at the Ibom Meridien Hotel and Resorts in Uyo, MySportDab Reports.

The event, which followed Nigeria’s 1-1 draw with South Africa, celebrated a decade of recognizing excellence in Nigerian football.

Osimhen was the star of the night, taking home two prestigious awards: Striker of the Year and King of the Pitch. His phenomenal performances for both club and country have solidified his status as one of Nigeria’s premier talents in world football. Osimhen’s prowess in front of goal and his dynamic play were key factors in his accolades.

The Queen of the Pitch award went to Bay FC’s Asisat Oshoala, who triumphed over strong competition from Atletico Madrid Femenino’s Rasheedat Ajibade and Paris FC’s Chiamaka Nnadozie. Oshoala’s consistent excellence and leadership in women’s football continue to inspire the next generation of female athletes in Nigeria.

In the Defender of the Year category, Nottingham Forest’s Ola Aina emerged victorious, edging out Fulham’s Calvin Bassey and Fenerbahce’s Bright Osayi-Samuel. Aina’s solid defensive performances have been instrumental in his club’s campaigns and his contributions to the Super Eagles.

Ojo Olorunleke of Enyimba FC was named Goalkeeper of the Year, surpassing Kayode Bankole of Remo Stars and Amas Obasogie of Bendel Insurance. Olorunleke’s outstanding shot-stopping abilities and leadership at the back were pivotal in Enyimba’s success over the past season.

Fulham’s Alex Iwobi was honored as the Midfielder of the Year. Iwobi’s versatility and creativity in midfield have made him a crucial player for both Fulham and the Super Eagles. He beat out Royal Antwerp’s Alhassan Yusuf and Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi for the award.

Finidi George, head coach of the Super Eagles, was named Coach of the Year. His tactical acumen and leadership have been instrumental in guiding the team through a challenging phase, earning him well-deserved recognition.

Other notable awards included Team of the Year, which went to Enyimba International FC, and the Football Pitch of the Year, awarded to the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium. These accolades highlight the quality and commitment to excellence within Nigerian football at both the club and facility levels.

The event also recognized contributions off the pitch, with several journalists honored for their dedication to covering Nigerian football.

Tobi Adepoju won Football Journalist of the Year (Online), Mozez Praiz of Supersport took home the TV category, Anthony Bekederemo of Brila 88.9 FM won the Radio category, and Johnny Edward of Punch Newspapers was recognized in the Print category.

Additionally, Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu was celebrated as the Football Friendly Governor of the Year for his support of grassroots football development.

Lagos State also received the award for the Best Grassroots Football Development Programme, reflecting its ongoing commitment to nurturing young talent.

Hon. Kunle Soname, owner of Remo Stars FC, was honored with the Sam Okwaraji Award for Commitment to Nigerian Football, recognizing his significant contributions to the sport in the country.

The 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards not only celebrated the achievements of Nigeria’s footballing stars but also underscored the vibrant and growing football culture within the nation.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Share Now:

You may also like

About Us

MySportDab logo

MySportDab Sports

Feature Posts


Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension and you can access our website.