Three World Cup Winners Missing As Argentina Name Squad For Copa America

by Ita
0 comment

Argentina have named a 29-man preliminary squad for the 2024 Copa America which kicks off on 20 June 2024, MySportDab reports.

The Albiceleste will begin their title-defending campaign on June 21 against Canada before taking on Chile and Peru in the remaining two group games in Group A.

Ahead of the tournament, head coach and 2022 World Cup winner Lionel Scaloni has named his squad for the tournament.

As expected Lionel Messi is leading the roster of attackers called up for the tournament, including Manchester City’s Julian Alvarez, and Manchester United’s Alejandro Garnacho.

Benfica winger and 2022 World Cup winner Angel Di Maria has been called up as well among the forwards.

Former Manchester City defender Otamendi has been called up in the defense alongside Sevilla’s Marcus Acuna.

Manchester United’s Lisandro Martinez and his Premier League counterpart from Tottenham Hotspur Cristian Romero have also been called in the defensive options.

Liverpool star Mac Allister leads the list of midfield selects for the tournament, including Chelsea forward Enzo Fernandez, and Rodrigo De Paul of Atletico Madrid.

In the goalkeeping department, Aston Villa goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez, Franco Armani of River Plate, and Geronimo Rulli of Ajax have been called up.

Leading the list of names, who made the 2022 World Cup-winning squad, but are left of the tournament is Papi Gomez. The 36-year-old Serie A midfielder has been left out alongside his counterpart from Roma Paulo Dybala, and 23-year-old MLS star Thiago Almada.

See Full List


Franco Armani (River Plate)
Gerónimo Rulli (Ajax)
Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa)


Gonzalo Montiel (Notting Forest)
Nahuel Molina (Atletico Madrid)
Leonardo Balerdi (Olympique Marseille)
Cristian Romero (Tottenham Hotspur)
Germán Pezzella (Real Betis)
Lucas Martínez Quarta (Fiorentina)
Nicolás Otamendi (Benfica)
Lisandro Martínez (Manchester United)
Marcos Acuña (Sevilla)
Nicolás Tagliafico (Lyon)
Valentín Barco (Brighton)


Guido Rodríguez (Real Betis)
Leandro Paredes (AS Roma)
Alexis Mac Allister (Liverpool)
Rodrigo De Paul (Atletico Madrid)
Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen)
Enzo Fernández (Chelsea)
Giovani Lo Celso (Tottenham Hotspur)


Ángel Di María (Benfica)
Valentín Carboni (AC Monza)
Lionel Messi (Inter Miami)
Ángel Correa (Atletico Madrid)
Alejandro Garnacho (Manchester United)
Nicolás González (Fiorentina)
Lautaro Martínez (Inter)
Julián Álvarez (Manchester City)

The 29-man preliminary squad will reportedly be trimmed down before the tournament with three names set to be axed from the list.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Share Now:

You may also like

About Us

MySportDab logo

MySportDab Sports

Feature Posts


Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension and you can access our website.