Peseiro Unveils New Talents in Super Eagles Squad for AFCON Qualifier

by Hashim
0 comment

Nigeria’s Super Eagles head coach, Jose Peseiro, has introduced fresh blood to the national squad by offering long-awaited maiden call-ups to talented Nigerian strikers, MySportDab reports.

Victor Boniface and Gift Orban, along with defender Jordan Torunarigha, ahead of the 2024 AFCON Qualifier against Sao Tome & Principe.

Peseiro, the Portuguese tactician at the helm, has recognized the impressive performances of these three players for their respective clubs, granting them their inaugural invitations to the Super Eagles squad.

Victor Boniface, the Bayer Leverkusen striker, has made an electrifying start to his career at the club, amassing five goals and two assists in just four competitive appearances.

Gift Orban, plying his trade at Gent, has been equally prolific, finding the net six times in eight appearances during the current season.

Jordan Torunarigha, the Germany-born defender who recently pledged his international allegiance to Nigeria, follows in the footsteps of his father by representing the Super Eagles.

His exceptional form for Gent has rightly earned him a place in the squad for the crucial encounter against Sao Tome & Principe.

Notably, Super Eagles captain Ahmed Musa has been conspicuously absent from the squad, marking a deviation from his usual presence in the national lineup.

Similarly, new Fulham signing Alex Iwobi has not made the cut, along with full-backs Bright Osayi-Samuel and Zaidu Sanusi.

On the flip side, Empoli defender Tyronne Ebuehi makes a return to the national team alongside other familiar faces like Francis Uzoho, Ola Aina, Jamilu Collins, and Raphael Onyedika.

The Super Eagles squad for the Sao Tome & Principe clash is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium); William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece); Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal).

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Gift Orban (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

This blend of seasoned stars and emerging talents promises an exciting and competitive lineup for the upcoming AFCON Qualifier, reflecting the evolution and rejuvenation of the Super Eagles squad under Peseiro’s leadership.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Share Now:

You may also like

About Us

MySportDab logo

MySportDab Sports

Feature Posts


Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension and you can access our website.