Nigeria Sets New Record In 2023 CAF Awards! [See Full List Of All Winners]

by News
0 comment

Nigerian heralded a new milestone in the country’s football history in the just-concluded 2023 CAF Awards in Marrakech, Morocco, MySportDab reports.

For the first time in the history of the awards, Nigeria became the first country to clinch both the Men’s Player and Women’s Player of the year in the same year.

Super Eagles striker and Napoli star Victor Osimhen broke 24-year jinx, becoming the second Nigerian footballer to win CAF Best Men’s Player of the Year Award after Nwankwo Kano in 1999.

Barcelona Femeni forward and Super Falcons star Asisat Oshoala won the award for the Women’s category.

No country in the history of CAF Awards have won the Men’s and Women’s footballer of the year the same year.

Apart from the Men’s and Women’s footballer of the year category, Nigerian female footballers swept the award in Morocco.

The celebration continued as the Super Falcons were crowned the continent’s best national women’s team for the year.

Also, Chiamaka Nnadozie, the Super Falcons’ goalkeeper, secured the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Three Super Falcons players – Michelle Alozie, Ohale Osinachi, and Oshoala – were included in the prestigious Women’s Africa XI team.

However, it was surprising to see Nnadozie, the continent’s best goalkeeper, missing from the list.

Victor Osimhen was the sole Nigerian representative in the Men’s Africa XI team, highlighting his impressive season and impact on the continent.

Host Morocco also had a remarkable night, winning in five categories, including the national team of the year for men following their unforgettable outing at the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

Full List of winners

Player of the Year (Men)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli) WINNER

Player of the Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona) WINNER

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)

Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Pyramids)

Peter Shalulile (Namibia, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly) WINNER

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR) WINNER 🏆

Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Coach of the Year (Men)
Abdelhak Benchika (Algeria, Simba SC)

Walid Regragui (Morocco) WINNER 🏆

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa) WINNER 🏆

Goalkeeper of the year (men)

Jerry Tshabalala (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal) WINNER 🏆

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC) WINNER 🏆

Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Real Betis)

Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz) WINNER

Amara Diouf (Senegal, Metz

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille) WINNER

Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburgh Panthers)

National Team of the Year (Men)


Morocco WINNER

National Team of the Year (Women)


Nigeria WINNER

South Africa

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly (Egypt) WINNER

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year

AS FAR (Morocco)

Sporting Casablanca (Morocco)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) WINNER

Share Now:

You may also like

About Us

MySportDab logo

MySportDab Sports

Feature Posts


Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension and you can access our website.