Follow MySportDab On Instagram Now HERE
Join MySportDab WhatsApp GroupHERE
Follow MySportDab On Twitter HERE
Follow US

BREAKING! Man City Star Kevin De Bruyne Named PFA Player Of The Year

Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne has now won the club’s first ever PFA Player of the Year Award on Tuesday, MySportDab reports. 

De Bruyne equalled Thierry Henry’s English Premier League record of 20 assists in a season as City finished second behind Premier League champions Liverpool.

De Bruyne won the award ahead of fellow  team-mate Raheem Sterling.

Liverpool Players Van Dijk, Jordan Henderson, Sadio Mane and Trent Alexander-Arnold were also nominated for the award.

Trent Alexander-Arnold won the PFA Young Player of the Year Award.

‘This is a massive honour. To be voted for by your colleagues and rivals from other club who you play against is surprising,’ De Bruyne said.

‘I’m surprised that I’m the first player at City to win the award despite the good players that are here.’

Liverpool captain Henderson tweeted: ‘Congratulations to Kevin De Bruyne on winning the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.’

Manchester City are now expected to tie Kevin De Bruyne down to a new contract.

De Bruyne is widely regarded as the best central midfielder in Europe after his successful seasons under Pep Guardiola.

‘We are proud of Kevin and this only strengthen how important he is to the club,’ Guardiola said.

‘He is the first player to win this prestigious award and this award is also a tribute to all the fantastic players before him. It’s a fantastic achievement.’

De Bruyne also scored 13 league goals from midfield last season.

Liverpool duo Van Dijk and Mohamed Salah won the award in the previous two seasons when Manchester City lifted consecutive Premier League titles.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Receive live sports updates!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Share Now:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button