AFCON: Nigeria's Super Eagles 25-Man Provisional Squad Announced! - MySportDab - Sports News Nigeria


Advertise Here

Post Top Ad

Advertise Here

Post Top Ad

Wednesday, 15 May 2019

AFCON: Nigeria's Super Eagles 25-Man Provisional Squad Announced!

Nigeria's Super Eagles Coach Gernot Rohr has announced his 25-man squad for the Upcoming African Cup Of Nations tournament in Egypt, MySportDab reports.

Rohr has named winger Ahmed Musa and defenders; Kenneth Omeruo and Abdullahi Shehu in his provisional squad.

Mikel, who captained the team at the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals in Russia, has not been with the group since Nigeria’s 2-1 defeat to Argentina in Saint Petersburg.

But according to the Communications Department of the Nigeria Football Federation, a recent meeting with Coach Rohr in the United Kingdom sealed Mikel’s return to the three–time African champions, with the possibility of adding to his 85 international caps.

Rohr has largely kept faith with the Trojans who earned a ticket to the AFCON 2019 finals with a match to spare.

Rohr has also put on standby six players, namely; defenders Ikouwem Utin and Valentine Ozornwafor who have also been named in Nigeria’s final 21 for the FIFA U-20 World Cup starting in Poland next week.

The Franco-German tactician explained to that he has included the two players knowing the FIFA U-20 World Cup will end on 15th June, six days before the first match will be played at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

All invited players and officials are to report at the Golden Tulip Hotel, Asaba on Sunday, 2nd June ahead of the friendly with the Warriors of Zimbabwe at the Stephen Keshi Stadium on Saturday, 8th June.

The team will depart for Egypt on Sunday, 9th June aboard a chartered aircraft.


Goalkeepers:Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders:Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards:Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); PaulOnuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (VillarrealFC, Spain)
Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)

No comments:

Post a Comment

We Love Comments!!!

Post Top Ad

Download Our Official Android App HERE
Join our Active Telegram Channel Now - Click to Join